I love to brag on my friends…

2019 - Props to Keith Craig for this Idea by Sheryl Brown

I work with a great marketing guy at SPS Family. He’s pretty humble about the stuff he shares so today, I’m using my platform to give him some props!

Keith Craig is a marketing consultant and has a really great newsletter called the M@rketing Minute at the firm. He recently posted an idea about keeping your pipeline full and I gotta say, it’s just too good to not share. Sorry, Keith!

Presenting to Groups

Now, if you follow me regularly, I remind everyone in financial services often that your thought leadership can only be shared in one of two ways: you can either write it or speak it. Well, Keith recently reminded his followers that consistently presenting to groups is a great way to market yourself.

Ok – this is a solid reminder, however, you might be thinking, “I don’t know how to run events.” or “I don’t have the money to add more events to my marketing budget.”

Never fear…

Hosted Events

Why not leverage events already  happening in your ‘hood? You don’t have to spend a dime or your time planning the events, you just have to find the events, contact the coordinator of the event, and get yourself on their schedule. If you get into this habit of guest speaking, you will find new people and reasons to speak in your local communities and can build your thought leadership directly with the pubic this way.

So this sounds great, but you’re probably thinking, “How do I even find these events?” 

Never fear…

Know Your Online Options

You can start searching TODAY for these opportunities using online resources, such as:

  • Eventbrite
  • Meetup
  • Chamber of Commerce
  • Vistage
  • Service Clubs (Rotary, Lions, Kiwanis)
  • Senior Centers
  • Public Library

You get the picture, but this is actionable education you can implement RIGHT NOW and get yourself in front of new people.

BE A PERSON OF ACTION: I talk about thought leadership a lot. It’s what differentiates you from a competitor. Keith Craig did an amazing job of reminding how to take your thought leadership, meld it into your community, and provided a list of solutions for you to do that immediately. Hats off to, Keith!

2019 CHRIS KNIGHT - A pretty good guy

Leave a comment